The Digital Workplace of the Year Awards

Digital Workplace of the Year

The Digital Workplace of the Year Awards are produced by the Digital Workplace Group and Simpler Media Group, publisher of CMSWire. We’re celebrating you — and your team — organizations and practitioners who have excelled in creating well-executed, high-performing digital workplace environments.

Digital Leader of the Year 2017


Kevin Cassady

Reading Cassady’s nomination for this award was like perusing the checklist for the ideal digital workplace leader! A hard-to-fault entry that impressed the judges on all criteria: from his tangible achievements within BNY Mellon as its Head of Digital Workplace, through to industry accolades such as topping DWG’s Digital Workplace Maturity leaderboard.

Digital Workplace of Year 2017


BNY Mellon

Strong performance across all the criteria for the award made BNY Mellon’s digital workplace a clear winner in the 2017 Awards. It was hard to fault the ambitious, business-focused strategy and the accompanying robust governance framework with its clear roles, groups and responsibilities. Their approach to user engagement also made an impression, with a range of approaches employed to ensure the user voice is at the heart of digital workplace developments.



BNY Mellon may have pipped them to the post for the Winner spot, but the Verizon entry nevertheless stood out. Not surprising, given that they have managed to put a convincing dollar value on savings due to the intranet! The judges were universally impressed with the work done on demonstrating benefits and impact. They also noted some powerful personalisation features, including contextual “smartboxes” in the search tool.



As a DWG benchmarker, when I see an entry that stands out for its broad, ambitious strategy, its strong business case and comprehensive governance, I know I’m on course to learn about a digital workplace that is built on a really solid foundations. The judges evidently felt that way too! They scored the business case and governance especially highly and were clearly impressed by the clear business rationale, employee-focus, and impressive strategic-level governance.

Meet the judges

Digital Workplace Award Judge
Jennifer Rosenberg
Worldwide Director, Digital Engagement, Colgate People, Colgate-Palmolive
Digital Workplace Award Judge
Jed Cawthorne
Director of Business Technology Strategy and Knowledge Management, BMO Financial Group
Digital Workplace Award Judge
Pete Fields
Senior Vice President, Team Member, Portal Manager, Corporate Communications, Wells Fargo
Digital Workplace Award Judge
Paul Miller
CEO and Founder, Digital Workplace Group
Digital Workplace Award Judge
Brice Dunwoodie
President and Publisher, Simpler Media Group and CMSWire

Have questions? Contact us at: dwawards[at]

Want to Sponsor?